About Lux String Quartet: Lux String Quartet performs classical music focusing on 20th and 21st-century repertoire and works by living composers. Lux likes to create new experiences for their audiences by choosing composers and pieces that are not frequently played. The members of this creative quartet contribute a wide spectrum of musical perspectives and frequently collaborate with local and international artists.

Program Description: In their Class Notes Concert, Lux String Quartet will use several pieces to explore how music can paint a picture using musical elements. Pieces include Shostakovich's String Quartet No. 3, Stephen Hough's "Les Six Recontres," and Nicholas Vines "Confessions of a Pangolin," a brand-new piece written for Lux String Quartet.

In their Class Notes Residency, Lux String Quartet will begin by performing for students. Additional activities will be determined by a goal-setting session between the ensemble and site teacher. Possible residency activities may include sectionals and chamber music coaching.

Sample Music: 

Supporting Materials Packet: Coming in August!

Logo YourClassical Class Notes

YourClassical is a public media organization and your support makes it possible.

Clean Water Land and Legacy Amendment

This activity is made possible in part by the Minnesota Legacy Amendment’s Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund.

©2024 Minnesota Public Radio. All rights reserved.
Facebook icon
YouTube icon
Instagram icon